Skip navigation

Sinds Eurosong een paar weken terug, ben ik nogal zot van de groep ‘The Ark’. Zij spelen ‘happy rock’, of wat je het ook wil noemen, die ik opzet om me op te peppen. Geniet mee.

One of us is gonna die young

I wanna hold you but you’re out of reach
somewhere searching for your inner peace
I’m just looking for a little squeeze
Face to face and cheek to cheek

 It’s in your blood but not in mine
What’s in your blood is in my mind
something’s broken in the way we smile
It is within us all the time

You’re well aquainted with the So- o- o-Ho
And all the ”Ello” and ”Ow are ’u?”
And we both have to get it on before the summer’s gone

We gotta hurry with no worry to get done today
Cause one of us is gonna die young
Let’s put our money where our mouth is and get out today
Cause one of us is gonna die young
Ooh, Ooh, One of us is gonna die young
Ooh, Ooh, One of us is gonna die young

And don’t you take this the wrong way
I’m not looking for a way to replace
what love can give
Cause you can’t do that!
I’m only saying that where I come from
People find it very fashionable
to burn like a flame
Never get tame
Grown-up and lame
Yeah! Yeah!
You’re looking beat but you say: ”no, oh, no, no”
”I’m all messed up and I’m ready to go!
We ain’t gonna go it alone no more
So let’s get on
with the show…”

There’s a lot to be said and to be done today
Cause one of us is gonna die young
Before they put us in a coffin I’ve got things to say
One of us is gonna die young
One of us is gonna die young

 Ooh, ooh, one of us is gonna die young
Ooh, ooh, one of us is gonna die young
There’s a lot to be said and to be done today
Cause one of us is gonna die young
We’ll go shim-shim shammey
And get whimsy and get whammy
Cause one of us is gonna die young
One of us is gonna die young
One of us is gonna die young

 

 It takes a fool to remain sane

Whatever happened to the funky race?
A generation lost in pace
Wasn’t life supposed to be more than this?
In this kiss I’ll change your bore for my bliss

But let go of my hand and it will slip on the sand
If you don’t give me the chance
to break down the walls of attitude
I ask nothing of you
not even your gratitude

 And if you think I’m corny
then it will not make me sorry
It’s your right to laugh at me
and in turn that’s my oppurtunity
to feel brave

 Because ridicule is no shame
Oh, it’s just a way to eclipse hate
It’s just a way to put my back straight
Oh, it’s just a way to remain sane

Every morning I would see her getting off the bus
The picture never drops, it’s like a multicoloured snapshot
stuck in my brain
It kept me sane for a couple of years
as it drenched my fears
of becoming like the others
who become unhappy mothers
and fathers of unhappy kids
and why is that?

 ‘Cos they’ve forgotten how to play
Oh, maybe they’re afraid to feel ashamed
to seem strange, to seem insane
to gain weight, to seem gay
I tell you this

 That it takes a fool to remain sane
Oh, it takes a fool to remain sane
Oh, it takes a fool to remain sane
Oh, in this world all covered up in shame
(Oh, take it to the stage)

 So, take it to the stage in a multicoloured jacket
Take it jackpot, crackpot, strutting like a peacock
Nailvarnish Arkansas, shimmy-shammy featherboah
Crackpot, haircut, dye your hair in glowing red and blue

 Do, do, do what you wanna do
Don’t think twice, do what you have to do
Do, do, do, do, let your heart decide
what you have to do
That’s all there is to find

 ‘Cos it takes a fool to remain sane
Oh, it takes a fool to remain sane
Oh, in this world all covered up in shame
Oh, it takes a fool to remain sane
Oh, it takes a fool to remain sane
Oh, it takes a fool to remain sane
Oh, in this world all covered up in shame

 Oh, it takes a fool
(It takes a fool to remain sane)…

 

Father of a son

One day I will become
the father of a son
Hallelujah Hallelujah Hallelujah!

Well, Ive had my share
Of remarks about my rear
But I know its all about fear
And that youd probably love it
if you’d only dare

And I know a thousand girls
whod go wild
If I’d ask them to bear my child
So I don’t see why you’d even care
to prevent me
cause I can swear,

That one day I will become
The father of a Son
Hallelujah Hallelujah Hallelujah!
One day I will become
the father of a Son
Hallelujah Hallelujah Hallelujah!

And youre totally fogged in your head
If you were serious right now
when you said
That it’s because
they will be bullied in school
cause that means you let the bullies set the rules

And you can legislate and oppress
and you can make my life a mess
But you can’t change the way I feel
Or convince me that my wish is unreal
And you can strike me down
and fence me
And you can claim
that theres opinion against me
But Ill still win over You, Sir
cause if you fight Love,
you’re always a looser

And one day I will become
The Father of a Son
Hallelujah Hallelujah Hallelujah!
One day I will become
The Father of a Son
Hallelujah Hallelujah Hallelujah!

And I may be gay
But I can tell you straight away
That Ill become a better father than all of you anyway (So listen!)
One day I will become
the Father of a Son
Hallelujah Hallelujah Hallelujah!

Geef een reactie

